Amazon Prime reached 201 million US members in the December 2025 quarter, according to quarterly survey data from Consumer Intelligence Research Partners (CIRP). That is up about 4% from 194 million a year earlier, and it followed Prime crossing 200 million members for the first time three months earlier. Here is the 2026 data on how many people have Prime, what they spend, and what Prime Day brought in this year.

How many Amazon Prime members are there in 2026?

CIRP, a research firm that surveys recent US Amazon shoppers each quarter, put the total at 201 million US Prime members for the quarter ending December 2025. That estimate counts individual shoppers who use a Prime membership, including multiple family members sharing one paid account, so it runs higher than the number of households actually paying for Prime.

Amazon Prime reached 201 million US members in December 2025 201M US Amazon Prime membersas of December 2025 (CIRP)

Figure 1: CIRP’s estimated US Amazon Prime membership count, December 2025 quarter. Source: Consumer Intelligence Research Partners, quarterly survey of recent US Amazon shoppers.

CIRP does not publish the sample size or full survey methodology behind this specific figure in its public posts, so treat the 201 million as a directional survey estimate rather than an audited subscriber count. For a broader look at Amazon’s seller base and total marketplace sales that sit behind this membership number, see our Amazon sellers, sales, and market share data.

Prime membership keeps climbing, but the pace has slowed since the 2022 price increase, a pattern CIRP’s own quarterly releases describe as growth continuing at a more gradual rate than in Prime’s earlier years.

How has Prime membership grown since 2024?

US Prime membership rose from 184 million in the June 2024 quarter to 201 million by December 2025, based on CIRP’s rolling quarterly estimates. Growth was fastest in the second half of 2024, then decelerated through 2025 as the base got larger: about 1 to 3 million members added per quarter rather than the double-digit millions Prime posted in earlier growth phases.

US Amazon Prime Members by Quarter, 2024-2025 (millions) 062.5125187.5250MJun 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025201M

Figure 2: US Amazon Prime membership by quarter, June 2024 to December 2025. Source: Consumer Intelligence Research Partners, quarterly shopper surveys.

A membership base growing by low single-digit millions per quarter is still growth, just not the pace Prime posted before its price reached $139 a year.

What percentage of US adults have Amazon Prime?

64% of US adults were Amazon Prime members as of May 2026, according to a joint report from Bizrate Insights and EMARKETER covering three years of survey data. That share had actually dipped to 54% in June 2025 before rebounding, a swing the report ties to expanded Prime perks landing through 2025 and 2026, including same-day grocery delivery, prescription savings, fuel discounts, and streaming.

Share of US Adults with Amazon Prime, May 2026 64%36%Prime members64%Non-Prime adults36%

Figure 3: Share of US adults who are Amazon Prime members, May 2026. Source: Bizrate Insights and EMARKETER, June 2026 report.

Prime penetration among US adults is not a straight line upward. It moves with how many of Prime’s non-shipping perks a household is actually using at a given moment.

How much do Prime members spend compared to non-members?

Prime members spent an average of $1,170 per year at Amazon.com in 2024, more than double the $570 average for non-Prime shoppers, according to CIRP’s January 2025 spending report. CIRP does not disclose the underlying sample size for this particular comparison in its public post, so the gap should be read as a directional finding from CIRP’s ongoing shopper panel rather than a precisely bounded figure.

MetricPrime membersNon-Prime shoppersYear (source)
US member count201 millionnot applicableDec 2025 (CIRP)
Avg. annual Amazon spend$1,170$5702024 (CIRP)
Share of US adults64%36%May 2026 (Bizrate/EMARKETER)
Annual membership price$139/yearnot applicable2026 (Amazon)

Source: Consumer Intelligence Research Partners (2025); Bizrate Insights and EMARKETER (2026); Amazon (2026).

The spend gap lines up with what EMARKETER’s report finds for retail membership programs more broadly: the more perks a member actually uses, the more they spend, while spending among people without a membership tends to stay flat.

How much does Amazon Prime cost in 2026?

A standard Amazon Prime membership costs $139 per year or $14.99 per month in 2026, according to Amazon’s own pricing page. That price has held steady since Amazon’s last increase in February 2022, when it rose from $119. Amazon also offers discounted tiers, including a rate for young adults and a reduced-price option for people enrolled in qualifying government assistance programs.

Figure 4: Amazon Prime’s annual US membership price at each increase since launch. Source: Amazon pricing announcements, 2005 to 2022; Amazon.com pricing page, 2026.

Four price increases in 21 years works out to an increase roughly every five years on average, though the actual gaps have ranged from four years to nine.

How much did Amazon Prime Day 2026 generate in sales?

Prime Day 2026, held June 23 to 26, generated $26.4 billion in US online sales across retailers, up 9.3% from $24.1 billion during the four-day 2025 event, according to Adobe Analytics. The 2026 total narrowly beat Adobe’s own pre-event forecast of $26.3 billion. Adobe’s Prime Day figures track online spending across the broader US retail market during the event window, not Amazon’s sales alone, so they capture the halo effect of competing sales events other retailers run against Prime Day.

US Online Sales During Prime Day Window ($ billions) 07.51522.530B24.12025 actual26.32026 forecast26.42026 actual

Figure 5: US online sales during the Prime Day event window, 2025 actual versus 2026 forecast and actual. Source: Adobe Analytics, 2025 and 2026 Prime Day reports.

YearEvent datesUS online salesYoY change
2025Jul 8-11$24.1 billion+30.3%
2026Jun 23-26$26.4 billion+9.3%

Source: Adobe Analytics Prime Day reports, 2025 and 2026.

Adobe changed its Prime Day measurement to cover the full US online retail market starting with the 2025 event, so the 2025-to-2026 comparison above is apples to apples; earlier years reported under a narrower, Amazon-specific methodology are not directly comparable to these two totals.

For the seller side of what drives Prime Day volume, our Amazon FBA fee and seller data breaks down the fulfillment costs and seller sales behind the event. Independent-seller return trends around major sale events are their own topic; we don’t yet have a dedicated Amazon returns data page live to link to here.

What happens when a Prime order gets returned?

Four out of five Amazon customers in the US live within a 5-mile radius of one of Amazon’s more than 10,000 return drop-off locations, according to Amazon’s own returns operations team. Most eligible refunds are now issued within about five hours of a return being scanned in, well before the item physically makes it back to a warehouse.

Figure 6: How an Amazon return is routed to a refund. Source: Amazon returns operations overview and standard 30-day return policy, 2026.

Amazon’s own default return rules only cover orders sold and fulfilled through Amazon. A seller running Prime-eligible listings alongside their own site, or handling any order outside Amazon’s marketplace, still needs a clear, published refund policy that states their own return window, condition requirements, and refund timeline, since Amazon’s fast, free-drop-off return network does not automatically extend to a seller’s other sales channels.

Speed and convenience are now the baseline shoppers expect from any return process, not just Amazon’s. A store whose own refund terms are slow or vague by comparison is competing against a five-hour benchmark it did not set.

The Bottom Line

Prime’s US membership base kept growing through 2025, reaching 201 million by December, but the growth rate has cooled since the $139 price took effect in 2022. What has not cooled is the spending gap: Prime members put more than twice as much through Amazon.com each year as non-members, and Prime Day 2026 pulled in $26.4 billion in a single four-day window. For any seller building a store around or alongside Amazon’s ecosystem, the return experience Prime has trained shoppers to expect, fast, free, and close by, is now the standard their own refund policy gets measured against.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many Amazon Prime members are there in the US in 2026? An estimated 201 million US Amazon shoppers had a Prime membership as of the December 2025 quarter, according to Consumer Intelligence Research Partners (CIRP), up about 4% from 194 million a year earlier.

How much more do Prime members spend than non-members? Prime members spent an average of $1,170 per year at Amazon.com in 2024, more than double the $570 non-Prime shoppers spent, according to CIRP.

How much does Amazon Prime cost in 2026? A standard Amazon Prime membership costs $139 per year or $14.99 per month in 2026, per Amazon’s own pricing page, unchanged since the last price increase in February 2022.

How much did Amazon Prime Day 2026 generate in sales? Prime Day 2026, held June 23 to 26, generated $26.4 billion in US online sales across retailers, up 9.3% from $24.1 billion in 2025, according to Adobe Analytics.

Sources and References

  1. Consumer Intelligence Research Partners (CIRP). (2026). “US Amazon Prime Membership Keeps Going Up.” December 2025 quarterly shopper survey; 201 million US Prime members, up from 194 million a year earlier.
  2. Consumer Intelligence Research Partners (CIRP). (2025). “Amazon Prime Member Spending.” Prime members averaged $1,170 in 2024 Amazon.com spend versus $570 for non-Prime shoppers; sample size not disclosed in the public post.
  3. EMARKETER. (2026). “Amazon Prime Stretches Its Lead Over Walmart+.” Report with Bizrate Insights covering June 2023 to May 2026; Prime membership at 64% of US adults in May 2026, up from 54% in June 2025.
  4. Adobe Analytics. (2026). “2026 Prime Day Insights.” $26.4 billion in US online sales during the June 23-26, 2026 event, up 9.3% year over year.
  5. Amazon. (2026). “Amazon Prime pricing.” Current $139 per year / $14.99 per month membership pricing.
  6. Amazon. “What happens to Amazon returns.” More than 10,000 return drop-off locations; most refunds issued within about five hours of drop-off.

Note: All figures verified as of September 2026. Amazon Prime membership counts and spend comparisons come from third-party survey estimates rather than Amazon’s own disclosed subscriber numbers; this page is refreshed at least twice a year as new quarterly data becomes available.